Board of Directors

Robert Murray

(MA Hons, Economics (Cantab))
Non-executive Chairman

Robert (Rob) is currently a Non-executive Director of Southern Cross Media Group Limited (since 2014). He is also a Board member of the not-for-profit charity organisation, the Bestest organisation.

Rob has extensive experience in retail and FMCG and an indepth understanding of consumers. He was previously the CEO of Lion Nathan and CEO of Nestle Oceania, and a former Director of Dick Smith Holdings Limited (from 2014 to 2016), Super Retail Group (from 2013 to 2015) and Linfox Logistics.

Jeff Adams CEO of Metcash

Jeff Adams

BA, Business Administration & Management
CEO, Metcash Group

Jeff has over 40 years of international retail experience across domestic and international businesses in the United States, Europe, Asia, Central America, and the Middle East.

Jeff was Chief Executive Officer of Operations for Turkey at Tesco Kipa. Jeff also served as an Executive Vice President of Operations at Fresh & Easy Neighborhood Market Inc. from 2008. Before moving to Fresh & Easy, he served as the Chief Executive Officer of Tesco Lotus since 2004. He was instrumental in starting Lotus in 1993.

Fiona Balfour

(BA (Hons), MBA, Grad Dip Information Management, FAICD)
Non-executive Director

Fiona is a Non-executive Director of Salmat Limited (since 2010), Airservices Australia and the Australian Red Cross Blood Service. She is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and Monash University, and a Member of Chief Executive Women.

Fiona has significant executive experience across aviation, telecommunications, financial services, education and the not-for-profit sector. She has over 15 years’ experience as a Non-executive Director, including as a Director of TAL (Dai-ichi Life Australia) Limited and SITA SC (Geneva), Councillor of Chief Executive Women, Trustee of the National Breast Cancer Foundation and Councillor and Treasurer of Knox Grammar School. She was awarded the National Pearcey Medal for ‘Lifetime Achievement to the Information Technology Industry’ in 2006.

Anne Brennan

(BCom(Hons), FCA, FAICD)
Non-executive Director

Anne is a a Non-executive Director of Rabobank Limited (since 2011), Argo Investments Limited (since 2011), Nufarm Limited (since 2011) and Charter Hall Limited (since 2010).

Anne has held a variety of senior management and executive roles in large corporates and professional services firms over 25 years in business. During her executive career, Anne was the Finance Director of Coates Group and the Chief Financial Officer of CSR Limited. Prior to her role at CSR, she was a partner at KPMG, Arthur Andersen and Ernst & Young.

Tonianne Dwyer

(BJuris (Hons), LB (Hons), GAICD)
Non-executive Director

Tonianne is a Non-executive Director of Dexus Property Group and Dexus Wholesale Property Fund (since 2011), ALS Limited (since July 2016), Oz Minerals Limited (since March 2017) and Queensland Treasury Corporation. She is a member of the Senate and Deputy Chancellor of the University of Queensland, and a member of Chief Executive Women

Tonianne has over 20 years’ experience in investment banking and real estate in the UK and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She was also previously a Non-executive Director of Cardno Limited (from 2012 to 2016).

Murray P Jordan

Non-executive Director

Murray is a Non-executive Director of Chorus Limited, Stevenson Group Limited and Sky City Limited, each New Zealand companies. He is also a trustee of The Starship Foundation which raises funds for New Zealand's National Children's Hospital.

Murray has over 10 years’ experience in grocery retailing and wholesaling and held key management roles in property development and investment. Previously Murray was the Managing Director of New Zealand grocery retail and wholesale business Foodstuffs North Island Limited.

Helen Nash

(BA Hons, GAIDC)

Non-executive Director

Helen is a Non-Executive Director of Blackmores Limited (since 2013), Southern Cross Media Group Limited (since 2015) and Inghams Enterprises Pty Limited (since 2017). Helen was formerly a Non-executive Director of Pacific Brands Group Limited (from 2013 to 2016).

Helen has more than 20 years’ brand and marketing experience with Procter & Gamble and IPC Media and spent 10 years in senior executive roles at McDonald’s Australia Limited.

Helen was recently appointed (in May 2017) as a Non-Executive Director of Inghams Enterprises Pty Limited.

Julie Hutton

(B Asian Studies (Viet), LLB, LLN, GAICD)
Company Secretary

Julie joined Metcash from law firm Baker & McKenzie, where she was a partner who specialised in mergers & acquisitions, private equity and corporate restructures. Julie is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and was formerly a Non-executive Director of AVCAL, a national association which represents the private equity and venture capital industries in Australia.