Board of Directors

Robert A Murray

(MA Hons, Economics (Cantab))
Non-executive Chairman

Robert (Rob) is currently a Non-executive Director of Southern Cross Media Group Limited (since 2014). He is also a Board member of the not-for-profit charity organisation, the Bestest organisation.

Rob has extensive experience in retail and FMCG and an indepth understanding of consumers. He was previously the CEO of Lion Nathan and CEO of Nestle Oceania, and a former Director of Dick Smith Holdings Limited (from 2014 to 2016), Super Retail Group (from 2013 to 2015) and Linfox Logistics.

Jeff Adams CEO of Metcash

Jeff Adams

BA, Business Administration & Management
CEO, Metcash Group

Jeff has over 40 years of international retail experience across domestic and international businesses in the United States, Europe, Asia, Central America, and the Middle East. Most recently, Jeff was Chief Executive Officer of Operations for Turkey at Tesco Kipa.

Jeff served as an Executive Vice President of Operations at Fresh & Easy Neighborhood Market Inc. from 2008. Before moving to Fresh & Easy, he served as the Chief Executive Officer of Tesco Lotus since 2004. He was instrumental in starting Lotus in 1993.

Fiona Balfour

(BA (Hons), MBA, Grad Dip Information Nanagement, FAICD)
Non-executive Director

Fiona is a Non-executive Director of Salmat Limited (since 2010) and Airservices Australia. She is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and Monash University and a member of Chief Executive Women.

Fiona has significant executive experience across aviation, telecommunications, financial services, education and the not-for-profit sector. She has over 15 years’ experience as a Non-executive Director, including as a Director of TAL (Dai-ichi Life Australia) Limited and SITA SC (Geneva), Councillor of Chief Executive Women, Trustee of the National Breast Cancer Foundation and Councillor and Treasurer of Knox Grammar School. She was awarded the National Pearcey Medal for ‘Lifetime Achievement to the Information Technology Industry’ in 2006.

Fiona was recently appointed (in May 2017) as a member of the Board of the Australian Red Cross Blood Service.

Peter Birtles

(BCom (Hons)
Non-executive Director

Peter has over 30 years’ experience in retail and consumer goods industries, including the last 18 years with Super Retail Group Limited where he was Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer from 2006 to early 2019.

Peter's executive career also includes extensive experience in accounting and finance having previously held the position of Chief Financial Officer of Super Retail Group Limited, as well as other senior financial roles during his 12 years with The Boots Company in the UK and Australia.

Tonianne Dwyer

(BJuris (Hons), LB (Hons), GAICD)
Non-executive Director

Tonianne is a Non-executive Director of Dexus Property Group and Dexus Wholesale Property Fund (since 2011), ALS Limited (since July 2016), Oz Minerals Limited (since March 2017) and Queensland Treasury Corporation. She is a member of the Senate and Deputy Chancellor of the University of Queensland, and a member of Chief Executive Women

Tonianne has over 20 years’ experience in investment banking and real estate in the UK and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She was also previously a Non-executive Director of Cardno Limited (from 2012 to 2016).

Murray P Jordan

Murray is a Non-executive Director of Chorus Limited, Stevenson Group Limited and Sky City Limited, each New Zealand companies. He is also a trustee of The Starship Foundation which raises funds for New Zealand's National Children's Hospital.

Murray has over ten years’ experience in grocery retailing and wholesaling and held key management roles in property development and investment. Previously Murray was the Managing Director of New Zealand grocery retail and wholesale business Foodstuffs North Island Limited.

Helen Nash

(BA Hons, GAIDC)

Non-executive Director

Helen is a Non-Executive Director of Blackmores Limited (since 2013) and Southern Cross Media Group Limited (since 2015) and was formerly a Non-executive Director of Pacific Brands Group Limited (from 2013 to 2016).

Helen has more than 20 years’ brand and marketing experience with Procter & Gamble and IPC Media and spent ten years in senior executive roles at McDonald’s Australia Limited.

Helen was recently appointed (in May 2017) as a Non-Executive Director of Inghams Enterprises Pty Limited.

Wai Tang

(BA Science, MBA, FAICD)

Wai is an experienced company director and currently holds non-executive directorships with Vicinity Limited, JB Hi-Fi Limited and Ovato Limited. She is also a board member of Visit Victoria.

Wai's executive career spans more than 30 years, including previously holding the positions of Managing Director of the confectionary retailer Happy Lab, Group Operations Director of Just Group Limited, Chief Executive Officer of Peter Alexander Sleepwear and General Manager of Business Development for Pacific Brands Limited.

Julie Hutton

(B Asian Studies (Viet), LLB, LLN, GAICD)
Company Secretary

Julie was appointed as Company Secretary on 6 June 2016. She joined Metcash from law firm Baker & McKenzie, where she was a partner who specialised in mergers & acquisitions, private equity and corporate restructures. Julie is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and was formerly a Non-executive Director of AVCAL, a national association which represents the private equity and venture capital industries in Australia.

Greg Watson, the former Company Secretary, retired on 31 January 2016. Brad Soller, Chief Financial Officer, temporarily assumed the role of Company Secretary until Julie’s appointment on 6 June 2016.